A Canadian independant not for profit organization

About Us | Contact Us


As of January 1, 2020, the International Society of Bilateral Cataract Surgeons has ceased to operate. iSBCS, in its 12 years of existence has fulfilled its mandate. ISBCS (Immediately Sequential Bilateral Cataract Surgery) is no longer rare and has been accepted, in most of the world, as being equally as effective as DSBCS with many advantages. As a result, the majority of our membership have simply stopped taking part in our annual meetings and many have not renewed their membership. Rather than mourning its passing, this is a sign to rejoice, in that we have fulfilled out mission, and the society is no longer needed. Further discussion of ISBCS will now move to the ASCRS, ESCRS, APACSRS and other multiple-issue societies, where it belongs.

Important documents of the iSBCS have been moved to the Eye Foundation of Canada website, where they will continue to be available to anybody who wants them. The executive would like to thank our members for their years of dedicated work and support.

Co-Presidents: Steve A Arshinoff Toronto, Canada

                         Bjorn Johansson Linkoping, Sweden

Secretary-Treasurer: Charles Claou, London, UK.

Chair, Scientific Committee: Cyres Mehta, Mumbai, India

Related Content:

Achievements of the iSBCS

iSBCS General Principals for Excellence in ISBCS 2009

2019 01 01 Vigamox Intracameral SAA

2020 06 07 ISBCS GLOBAL SA

To top